Goat Jerky (Sukuti) Recipe

Finally time to update my first recipe. I am very interested in cooking food of all different kinds and will be sharing different types of food from around the world. For my first recipe, I will revisit my cultural roots and make a very famous food back in my home country of Nepal. It is called “sukuti” in my native language (NepalI) and can be made of any kind of red meat. There are many versions of the recipe and one can choose any type of marinade to prepare the food. In my home country they actually dry the marinated meat over sunlight for days and finally the food is ready. Since that is not convenient for me to follow that protocol I used oven to make the food. One can serve it as a appetizer or a side dish or a snack. Here is what you need to make sukuti.

2lbs of red meat (goat in this case)

Yougurt (about a cup or so)

Different spices. I used cumin, coriander, meat masala powder, curry powder, cayenne pepper, garlic, ginger, salt. oil, soy sauce, black pepper, nutmeg, and Sriracha sauce. Please use each ingredient according to your taste. However, since not all the spices will make it into the meat, I recommend doubling the amount in the marinade so that the meat will absorb enough amount of spices before it is cooked. Please mix all the  ingredients of the marinade and cover the meat with the meat at least for 8 hours in the fridge. I marinated for more than 24 hours in the fridge. Please cook the meat at 175F for 3 or more hours until the meat is meat is really dry and chewy and dehydrated.

DSC_1037 DSC_1036 DSC_1035 DSC_1034 DSC_1033 DSC_1032

Leave a comment